Using CoAP for posting data to exosite server. What about IPv6?

Hello,

I’m new to exosite and I have just created an account on portals.exosite.com. I would like to post some data to exosite server using CoAP protocol. The procedure I found looks like this:

value
I’ve tried to test it using Copper plugin, but I got 401 Unauthorized and I don’t know why, because as I understand CIK number is enough for authorization.
Also I want to to ask if coap.exosite supports IPv6? And if does, the procedure for posting data is the same like above or the address should be different?

Best regards,
yoyki

That request looks right as long at you’re replacing “alias” with and actual alias and “CIK” with the actual CIK of the client that owns that aliased data port.

coap://coap.exosite.com/1a/temp?6d18765178325a8b4ba2b4e35786ff5ba599f150 works for me in Copper.

I’m not sure why you’d be getting a 401, just make sure that you’ve copied the CIK correctly and if you’re using a device type other than “generic”, make sure that it has been activated (In the device information popup in portals you should see “Status: Activated”).

IPv6 works exactly the same way. If your computer has an IPv6 connection you may even already be using IPv6 when sending requests from Copper. If you want to force IPv6, you can use the domain coap6.exosite.com, but you should really only use that domain for testing.

Hi Patrick,

I am able to write data using coap POST method but I get “4.04 Not Found” error code when I try to read data using GET.

For write data => POST coap://coap.exosite.com/1a/alias?CIK with payload = xxxx.
For read data => GET coap://coap.exosite.com/1a/alias?CIK. (Izzit correct?)

@spider73

That looks correct, are you certain that you have input your alias name and CIK properly in your CoAP GET request?

Hi Martin,

Thanks for your reply.

I’m using Firefox Copper and below are my test sequence:

• I type in “coap://coap.exosite.com/1a/alias?CIK” onto the URL box.